Skip to main content
Answered

Forced to Join Someone Else's Team

  • August 21, 2026
  • 1 reply
  • 18 views

Hi,

I am exploring this for product for the first time.
When I sign in with Google, I am given a team (which is someone in my school district) that I have to join to proceed. Then I can see their boards, and it looks like they can see mine.

I want to explore this as my own team -- with all that is on the free tier -- to explore if I want to get this for my coworkers. I was able to leave the team and start my own, but I don’t want this to happen to everyone piloting this for my school district.

Is there a way that when people sign in they don’t get tied to this teacher’s personal team?
Even if that means we can’t use sign in with Google?

Thanks

 

 

Best answer by Robert Johnson

@Kelli Lane What’s likely going on here is that someone with the same email domain created a Miro account and set the team workspace’s Discoverability settings allow anyone with the same domain to join without approval, hence why you see a Join vs. Request to Join button:

Had they set the settings either one of these options:

 

… then anyone with the same email domain would have been able to create their own free plan team (without first having to Join and leave the team presented to them).

1 reply

Robert Johnson
Forum|alt.badge.img+13
  • Volunteer Community Moderator
  • Answer
  • August 23, 2026

@Kelli Lane What’s likely going on here is that someone with the same email domain created a Miro account and set the team workspace’s Discoverability settings allow anyone with the same domain to join without approval, hence why you see a Join vs. Request to Join button:

Had they set the settings either one of these options:

 

… then anyone with the same email domain would have been able to create their own free plan team (without first having to Join and leave the team presented to them).