Answered

Stop comments from moving

• 19 November 2020
  • 3 replies

I am a newb, for sure. I am using comments and I found that once I drop a comment, I can grab its header and move the comment body without moving the target (the end of the line stays) but once I place it and then click off of it, that position isn’t saved.

If I go back into the comment, the comment body is back in the default position, off slightly to the right, which is in the way of everything I need comments for.

Seems if I am able to move the body independent of the line, it should stay where I drop it, no?

Thanks for the help. 

icon

Best answer by Robert Johnson 19 November 2020, 22:04

View original

This topic has been closed for comments

3 replies

Userlevel 7
Badge +12

@Chrispurser - I agree that is seems unintuitive to be able to move the comment, but not have it stick. However, I believe the intent behind this behaviour may be to support the fact that you can pin a comment - a  feature that I did not know existed until I started poking around a bit more with comments just now.

I can see a use case for this, e.g., one could move comments to where they aren’t over top of other objects, pin them open, and then present information to someone. However, as I test “pinning” a comment I noticed that

1. It only applies to the current board sessions, i.e., if I exit the board and go back in, the comment is no longer pinned; and
  2. other users on the board don’t see the pinned comment - even in a Miro screen share.

I suppose this is only handy if you are sharing your screen in a 3rd-party app, e.g., Zoom.