Skip to main content
Answered

Sharing permissions guest

  • August 21, 2026
  • 2 replies
  • 27 views

When preparing a workshop with multiple guest I want to be able to share the board and enable guest to add post it notes without allowing them to mess up all my formatting. So many times I find that layout items that I had locked prior to the workshop have been unlocked by someone else than my team and the same happens during online sessions. 

Is there something I’m not doing right or could this be an improved level of sharing permissions. 

generally I want contributors to be able to contribute with most features but I need to make sure that only the owner of the board or people in my team can unlock items. 

Best answer by Robert Johnson

@Alan wiles There are three categories of users who can access boards:

  1. Team/workspace Members
  2. Guests
  3. Visitors (aka, Anyone with the link)

More on the differences here:

https://help.miro.com/hc/en-us/articles/7045408248594-Visitors-guests-and-members

When it comes to Locking/Unlocking, all but Visitors can do this. If you have participants unlocking items, then they are either guests or members. To avoid this, you’ll want to use the Protected Lock feature.

2 replies

Eca
Mironeer
Forum|alt.badge.img+5
  • Mironeer
  • August 21, 2026

HI ​@Alan wiles thanks for reaching out! It seems like this issue is the same as the bug confirmed in this thread. The good news is that it has now been resolved. Please let me know if this issue persists on your end so I can include it in the report.


Robert Johnson
Forum|alt.badge.img+13
  • Volunteer Community Moderator
  • Answer
  • August 21, 2026

@Alan wiles There are three categories of users who can access boards:

  1. Team/workspace Members
  2. Guests
  3. Visitors (aka, Anyone with the link)

More on the differences here:

https://help.miro.com/hc/en-us/articles/7045408248594-Visitors-guests-and-members

When it comes to Locking/Unlocking, all but Visitors can do this. If you have participants unlocking items, then they are either guests or members. To avoid this, you’ll want to use the Protected Lock feature.