Skip to main content
Question

Single user, new to Miro looking to Upgrade

  • September 23, 2026
  • 3 replies
  • 80 views

Hi All, 

 

I’ve been using the free plan for a short time. I use it to visualize and modify my own brain mapping and process flow layouts. I will never have another user within my account since I am using it as a tool for myself.  I’m looking to get more than the 3 boards the free plan allows. I noticed that the standard paid plan is for 2 users. Is there way to get the standard plan, but only pay for one user? It looks like if I subscribe to the standard plan, without using the second user, I will be paying twice as much for my user.  I know there are other tools, I just like this platform.

 

Thank you,

Bill 

3 replies

Eca
Mironeer
Forum|alt.badge.img+5
  • Mironeer
  • September 23, 2026

Hi ​@ws.hayward thanks for sharing your use case and for choosing Miro!

The Starter plan does require a minimum purchase of 2 licenses. This means that even if you’re the only person using the account, the subscription would still include 2 licenses, with the second license simply remaining unused.

 

At this time, there isn’t a single-license option for the Starter plan. You can find more details about the plan and its minimum license requirement here:Miro Pricing

 

Thanks for your understanding!


  • New Here
  • October 2, 2026

Does “unused” mean “not charged”? If you have to pay this is crazy. 

There used to be a single user consultant plan that was good for having occasional guests to a board. The only solution now is to create multiple free accounts, one per “engagement” with a different client email on each.


Robert Johnson
Forum|alt.badge.img+13
  • Volunteer Community Moderator
  • October 9, 2026

Update: the 2-seat minimum appears to have been dropped at checkout. The miro.com/pricing page and at least one help center article still mention it, but I tested with one of my free-plan teams today (Oct 9) and was able to purchase a single [Starter/Business] license.

One tip: if your team has more than one member, you’ll be billed for each of them, so remove anyone you don’t want to pay for before upgrading. That’s how per-seat billing has always worked.