[RESOLVED] Mind map issues - Ghost/orphan lines after nodes deleted - missing Duplicate and Delete actions in context menu

I just wanted to try out Miro as a tool for mind mapping but I can’t even do basic edits. Once I add an element, there’s no way to edit it. I can delete the text bubble but the line stays and there is no way to event select it.

As I have never used Miro mind maps before, are they a new feature that’s not really functional yet or how can I fix this?

Here’s a quick video demonstration:

Robert Johnson 23 days ago

@Bastian K - Coincidentally, I just added a mind map template to a board, and there is no placeholder text or duplicate and delete actions:

I am going to open a support ticket for clarification and will update this post as I hear back from the support team.

View original

19 replies

Userlevel 7
Badge +12

@Bastian K - A few things I noticed from your video were:

When you select a mind map node, your context menu is missing the Duplicate and Delete actions, e.g., what I see in my Miro UI:

And what I see in yours:

• You appear to have changed your Miro account language to Español, so I did the same, in case there was something in that language causing the issue, i.e., a bug, but my UI still looks fine.
  • I also noticed that, when you delete any typed text from a node, your placeholder text of “type something” does not return, e.g., my Miro:
  • Yours:

With these UI differences, I would suggest that

1. you clear your cache (and maybe even sign out/back in to Miro
  2. and if that doesn’t work, you may have a browser extension interfering with the Miro UI, so I would suggest that you try a process-of-elimination exercise and either start disabling browser extensions one-by-one and testing, or disable them all, test, and start re-enabling them again.