Skip to main content
Answered

Is it possible to draw on the desktop like you can with OpenBoard?

• 21 September 2020
  • 5 replies

Hi, I am really liking Miro. I use a whiteboard open source software called OpenBoard now and then. Although its not as polished as Miro, it has some great features, I would go as far as awesome for an open source project. However, I really like Miro and I am beginning to make it my main Whiteboard software. I am on the free plan at the moment and I am intetested in upgrading.

OpenBoard has this feature which allow you to annotate or draw on your desktop or any open application or even the desktop as you can see here: https://www.screencast.com/t/vTqfdrKPh

I want to know if Miro has this feature? 

As I am still learning to use Miro I thought its possible Miro has it and I just need to figure out how to do it. So, does Miro have this feature to draw or annotate on other applications or desktop?

Thank you.

Ryan

5 replies

Userlevel 7
Badge +12

@RyanUK - Welcome to Miro! The functionality you are describing does not current exist in either the web or desktop application. For now, you would be limited to taking a screenshot and pasting it into a board for markup.

I do like this idea though! I would suggest adding this as an Idea in the Wish List category by following the guidelines here: Wish List: Everything You Need to Know. If you do create a Wish List Idea post, I would also recommend that you post a link to it back here, so that future readers of this post can quickly get to and vote for your Idea.

Userlevel 1

Hi Robert, Thanks. I’ll do that as I am going to move to upgrade today or tomorrow so it's in my interest if Miro does a feature like at some point. It's one of the best features I have seen on a whiteboard. 

Oh, thank you for the super fast reply. 

Userlevel 7
Badge +12