Nina Torr: illustrations, online exhibitions, and more ​​🎨

• 23 August 2021
  • 5 replies

Userlevel 7
Badge +5

Hello Community :wave_tone2:

I’m pretty sure you’ve seen the following threads:

Ever wondered what’s the story behind these online exhibitions? We did! That’s why we decided to talk with @Nina Torr, an artist, illustrator, lecturer, and our first community templates challenge winner.

:art:  Read on to learn more about Nina, Miro exhibitions, student art projects, and incredible boards. 

:bulb: First things first! Please introduce yourself 

Hi, I’m Nina Torr, I’m an illustrator/artist from Pretoria, South Africa. I teach illustration at Open Window School of Visual Communication where I also run the campus gallery space, NOW Gallery.

I completed a BFA in Fine Arts at Parsons School of Design in New York in 2010 and a Masters in Fine Arts at the University of Johannesburg in 2020.

:bulb: Tell us more about how you use Miro

I use Miro for online classes and exhibitions. 

For classes, I create a project for each course and a board for each student. Each week the students upload their progress to their personal boards like a workbook/sketchbook. During class (Google Meet) we visit each student’s board for individual feedback. I draw into their work with the pen tool, add notes, references etc. You can get a sense of how the students populate their individual boards here and here and see one of our class workshop boards here.