How to revert changes

  • 11 April 2020
  • 36 replies
  • 15190 views

Userlevel 1

Hi!
I accidentally selected all the items on my board, deleted them and then refreshed the page. Now there is now undo button. I never downloaded a backup so I can’t restore the board.

Is there a way to revert the board to previous state?


36 replies

Userlevel 7
Badge +12

FYI: You can now restore previous versions of boards using the Board history feature:

Can Miro please enable “Cmd+Z” on the Mac to help us avoid digging into the “Board History?”

Userlevel 5

This might be similar to this one:

https://community.miro.com/wish-list-32/version-history-1563

Consider giving it your vote :)

Userlevel 7
Badge +12

@Amy R - There is currently no way for users to restore boards from a specific date/time.

You would need to contact Miro support to ask if it is possible for them to restore a version of the board.

https://help.miro.com/hc/en-us/articles/360020185799-How-to-Contact-Miro-Support

@Chrissy X The only part that can be restored seems to be deleted items from what I see. That’s good to know at least. But breakages in design could not be reverted this way.

 

I think a good enough implementation of history for me would just be a kind of timeline to bring it back X number of minutes/hours/days snapshots before. Doesn’t need to be more complex than that. A bit like Wordpress revisions.

I had this same issue and in order to retrieve the images on my board, i followed the below steps :

 

Click on the 2 forward arrows at the bottom left of the page

Go to the lightening looking icon ‘Activity’ . This icon gives you a list of your activity and next to each one says ‘restore’

Click on ‘restore’ on the timestamp of when it was deleted and this should restore your images. 

Hi! I too need the historu of changes-function! Urgently! Just like en Google-doc, where you easily can acces a former version of a document. 

Please, is there still no way to do this today?

Seems like there is the Western Wall right here. Thanks God I was putted only just about 40 stickers on the board till 30 of them are dissapear cause closing browser.

Miro has pretty design and UI/UX, but it doesn`t matter, if you can lost all of your work!

You guys need to iintroduce version control or history of changes straight to the boards asap.

Good luck! Going to search more safely instrument

I followed up with the Help Center and they wouldn’t help me. They said it would take too much computing to do it. I am shocked -- the fact that you can’t revert to an earlier version is ridiculous. Good luck, Adam...

I just accidentally selected all items on the board and ducplicated them and there’s no painless solution to undoing that. The board becomes more or less unworkable with that many items and having to manually delete them is crazy.

Userlevel 7
Badge +6

@Amy R -

If the new content restore capability isn’t going to help, your only recourse would be to contact Miro support here: Submit a request – Miro Support & Help Center

Good luck!

Kiron

I just made the same mistake, too. The Activity list does not (a) contain all of the deletes so I can’t restore all changes and (b) it is very unclear what each indicator in the Activity list means/relates to.

 

I desperately need to revert to the version that was there at midnight last night. Is there really no way to do this? That would be shocking.

Userlevel 3

Hey everybody! I can assure you this issue is something which is in our focus. As a first step, we’ve just released Content Recovery feature which allows you to restore recently deleted content. 

You can read more here https://help.miro.com/hc/en-us/articles/360017730913-Activity-List

I hope it helps.

Two recommendations (none of which will help you with an existing problem, I’m sorry to say):

  1. Do all your development in an internal team and/or board, then copy and paste the content into the client/ team board once it’s ready to be used. At least you’ll have the collateral saved. 
  2. Move to Mural. They have automatic version control. If our company did not buy an enterprise license for Miro, I’d be using Mural for all my engagements. The auto back-up and version control is reason enough! The improved UX is an added bonus.  

Using Miro for a big pitch to a multinational client. Night before the pitch someone accidentally dragged a load of content across and, somehow, into a table. No undos available, impossible to get the content out of the table, had to redo a massive user journey.

 

We will not be using this product again, at least until it has a proper, reliable undo feature and board history.

 

Not good enough for production level work.

Completely incredible … Same thing here, 4 weeks of work with the client in four workshops are gone.
A simple idea to prevent this for the Miro developers: Just put a dialogue box saying “do you really want to delete everything?” if too fatal actions are executed … This is much easier the implementing a version history.

Me too. I just assumed it would save a history I could roll back too. :disappointed_relieved:  +1 for this feature. 

Please Miro, add a version history and regular autosave function. Please. This is driving me mad.

Same here. Accidentally deleted something and the browser crashed. We need to be able to revert to history points ASAP. Like...yesterday for me...

I agree there needs to be a way to revert a board to a specific point in time. It’s particularly useful if someone completely new to Miro accidentally deletes something and not realize it at all. 

I’ve just had the same while testing out Miro. Don’t think we can adopt Miro while this is unaddressed. Need a history with revert-to-version capability for board owner.

 

Userlevel 1

They replied, but we were able to undo quickly the changes.

I believe that the history revision is a fundamental feature. It will allow us all to breathe more relaxed… ;)

I’m also in the same position? Were the support team able to help on this? I haven’t had a response for 2 days, though I did message on Saturday :sweat:

Userlevel 1

Here I just been lucky. Saw it immediately and told everyone so it could be undone.

Some good news: support told me that the version history is on the making. :)

Same here, another case. A new colleague that is unfamiliar with Miro just accidentally deleted the whole board contents (hit Cmd-A and delete) and with it month of work. Did anybody find a solution to get the contents back?

Reply