I am invited to a team, Enterprise plan, where on the team user list I show up as “Free Restricted”.
There is one (1) board in the team which I can fully edit, and two others where I only have view/comment rights.
I thought that any editing always requires a Full license? (except public link sharing of course) What exactly could be happening here? 😃
Yep, that was it, the Visitors feature. Explained more as a sidenote here and here. Look for:
Improvement 💡: I would imagine it would have been more clear to me from the start, if the ❓-symbol tooltip would have had a mention of this. Now it literally only talks about “anyone with the link and password”
Downside is that you need to enable the “Anyone with the link” feature in order to be able to edit a board as a Visitor or someone with a Free Restricted license - even if you don’t intend to send the link + password to anyone. If you’re really careful about security, it could even be disabled company-wide.
Other articles to review could be:
The one board that I can edit as a Free Restricted, has “public/visitor/Anyone with the link access set to Can edit”
The other board that I cannot edit as a Free Restricted, has “Anyone with the link” disabled.
Good catch, I couldn’t imagine that “Anyone with the link” feature would affect a “logged-in” user’s rights. Or is that what you implied?
Nope, this wasn’t the case. Double checked with the inviter using screenshare, that the Beta feature wasn’t even available in that Team / Permissions.
When trying to add me as a Guest to the other board - with Edit rights, Miro gives an expected error stating I need a full license to be invited.
The Visitors feature is designed to allow both signed and non-registered users, so it is functioning as intended.
One neat thing you can do with the Visitors feature in a paid account, e.g., a Team Plan, when you want someone outside of the team to access a board, but you don’t have the Guests feature, and you do not want anyone else on the team to have access to the board is to:
Now, even if someone on your team obtains the board’s link, if they do not have the password, they cannot access it.