Question

Can't export board as pdf for about a week. Spinning blue wheel in indefinite limbo

Tried it on every possible device and browser I have that allows the option: Brave, Firefox, Chrome and the desktop app, all on macOS.

Somehow I don’t have the option on either Safari, iPad or Android app.

I don’t understand why or how, and it’s quite frustrating. It used to work like a charm.

I use the free version, by the way.

Thanks for your answers!

4 replies

Userlevel 3

Hi @Source M Rod 

First things first: I cannot answer your question. I don’t know. 

But I can tell you this: it has happened to me, many many times. Since I am an instructor and want to publish my boards as a PDF file, this is really a showstopper for me when it happens.

Here’s what I’ve learned, when it does rear its ugly head:

• Like you, when it happens, it happens on all browsers - so I think the problem is within Miro itself
  • On some occasions, I suspect the problem is with too many users? If I try again during a timeframe when I expect fewer people are using Miro, it will work.
  • On almost all occasions, it happens when I have boards that contain a lot of images, e.g. the boards are huge and the resulting PDF files are 50 MB or more in size.  In that case, I’ve had luck splitting my Miro board into sub-boards, so that the export PDF file size is smaller. But gosh, that is painful for me.
  • On a few occasions, something inside my board (and I never learned exactly what) was causing the problem. If I could find the right frame that contained whatever it was that Miro didn’t like, and deleted it or re-worked it, the export would start running again.

I have not had this problem for a good 2-3 months, and I still work with huge boards - so KNOCK ON WOOD the demons have given up on me and found you to torment instead!

For what its worth, I have a different license than you, so here is what it looks like for me; in other words, I have a low-res option and a hi-res option: