Automatic Backups

Would be great to have automated backups overnight to a nominated Google Drive account (or similar account). 

BTW, if you did do this, it  should only use the permission that gives Miro the ability to view and edit files it creates - NOT general ability to access all of my Google drive.

Hey @David Coales 

I’m a product manager at Miro and your request at least partially lies in my product domain. I’d like to learn more about your wish beneath this request. What is your use case, why do you like to have backups in Google Drive? Why Google Drive?

@Kiron Bondale @Konstantin Likhachev @mlanders @kal  I see you liked the request. Could you share your thoughts as well?

It will help me to better understand your needs and think about how we can address them.

Hey @Anton Telitsyn 

Since we want to use Miro for remote example mapping, our Miro Boards will be crucial containers of rules and requirements for our development work.

And to be able to actually start using it properly we need to be able to take backups of the boards to keep the information if … you know pandemics or something. :sweat_smile:

It would be perfect with an API that we could use to automate this ourselves. But Google Drive, Dropbox, … whatever, would be great as well.

I would also consider this connected to another topic with ownership of boards. That the team should have an admin that can pseudo own all boards and be able to download backups of all boards of the team.

@kal it definitely makes sense! I’m just trying to understand what the main point here is: 

• to save data from accidental editing/deleting by the collaborators OR
  • to save data independently of Miro servers

Could you clarify this as well?

@kal it definitely makes sense! I’m just trying to understand what the main point here is: 

• to save data from accidental editing/deleting by the collaborators OR
  • to save data independently of Miro servers

Could you clarify this as well?