Miro for Online Courses - Template Copying

• 16 April 2020
  • 8 replies

I am a long time mind mapper, but new to Miro and trying to figure out the best plan for me and what problems it might solve.

1. Coaching: I am a time management coach and work with clients around the world. Would the client need to be a user as well to work together on a mind map? If so, could I create my own templates that they could then download and access with a free Miro account (I assume many would eventually upgrade).
  2. Online Courses: I see some people putting workshops in Miro. Could I use Miro as a LMS system (read only). Once again, could they download templates I provide?

Thanks for your help.

8 replies

Userlevel 7
Badge +6

@CaptainTime -

1. If the clients were set up as users within your own Miro team, then yes, you could create a shareable template and they would be able to use it if they had their own accounts. Alternately, you could make the template available to the Miro community and then it would be available to pretty much anyone.
  2. You don’t have to provide users with edit access on existing boards, but if they can create a new board, then they can add any public or shared template to their board.

There is another discussion thread and question out there as to whether board backups can be used by a completely different Miro account - if the answer to that question is yes, that would give you another option. Rather than creating a template, just backup your board and provide the RTB file to the client. They would then restore it.

Kiron

Sadly, this would get very expensive if I also have to make each of my coaching clients a user as well at $10 a month in order to share boards and templates with them.

Userlevel 7
Badge +9

@CaptainTime 
There could be a workaround with templates:

You can create templates.

Bring them as frames into your board.

Set a task into your Visual-Notes section exactly for this frame(s)