Answered

Mindmap with graphs, not just trees?

• 14 May 2020
  • 6 replies

Userlevel 2

I’m new to Miro but having watched many videos and browsed community topics,  I think the current mindmaps feature is limited in that only trees can be represented.

Any plans to add support for general graph topologies? Graph DBs, like Neo4j, are growing in importance, for example ISO is standardizing the GQL (Graph Query Language), the first time in decades that a new language beyond SQL has been required. 

In graph data models, links can connect any pair of nodes (ie concepts in mind maps). In addition both nodes and links can be have a data type associated and have key-value pair attributes.

A version of Miro that supports such graph features - and that could interface with Graph DBs might go a long way toward enabling agile, collaborative UI for enterprise informatics. 

Neo4j has their own graph visualization platform and there are 3rd party platforms like kgbase.com but these not as sophisticated from an interaction point of view as Miro.

Any thoughts on feasibility? 

icon

Best answer by Marina 5 June 2020, 13:42

View original

6 replies

Userlevel 7
Badge +5

Hi @Alan Calvitti,

Thank you for sharing this idea! I’m afraid we are not planning this functionality for our Mind Map.

Maybe you can achieve this functionality with the Miro Platform? The developer documentation is here. And we also have a Developer Forum for API/SDK-related discussions. 

Userlevel 7
Badge +5

@Alan Calvitti  🙌  

Completely agree with you…  Its an intriguing universe of possibilities (and problems) -- and indeed, Miro has way more robust interface capabilities than other graph/node editors ( kumu, neo4j, go.js ) 

The good news is that read/write is completely approachable immediately given the capabilities of the SDK/API.   Just add the ETL logic in the middle of miro and another API and you’re good to go.